In the past 2 weeks, I’ve been to 4 different countries, was speaking at conferences and conducting workshops and trainings all day long, and taking red eye flights (Midnight or very early AM) most of the time and sleeping on planes… Bottom line with the lifestyle I have, socializing with someone on a plane, was pretty much the least of my concerns, as I preferred to sleep or at least to preserve my vocal cords 🙂 .

On that flight back from Tunisia to Qatar, I had an interesting passenger sitting next to me, an old man but pretty full of life much more than other young people on that aircraft.

It was about 6 hours flight, and I know I need to be somewhere speaking few hours after my plane will land finally in Dubai… so I really didn’t want to talk to anyone, and try to sleep instead; only the warmth of the positive vibes I heard from that beautiful person, made me drop my headphones and turn and answer him… What do I do in Life? (if you haven’t met a Tunisian before, their politeness and class is incredible… especially when they start by saying “Forgive me…” – Samehni-  instead of the traditional “Excuse me”)

I started telling him about what I do, where I spend my time, and so and so… and the Obvious following question would be… “Wow with this life style, how do you keep up with your family? Are you married?”

“Nop”

“What are you waiting for young man?? time is flying”

“I Know”

“You must be married to your work then”

“Not really”

“Let me ask you this young man, I don’t actually know you but I can tell you that from the brief discussion we’ve had made me proud with all the achievements you’ve made considering your young age… but you need to ask yourself the question before it’s too late… Why are you doing all this, to whom?”

“I know the answer to that question”

“??”

“I’m living my life to Adam & Maria”

“Who’s Maria & Adam??”

“They are my children…

or to be more accurate, the children I’d love to have one day

I want to be the role model for Adam, to be proud of his father when he goes to school, when he plays with his mates and until he becomes a valuable member of society and beyond, I want to be worthy of being his inspiration and aspiration

I want to be Maria’s hero, her first and eternal love… I want to be there for her when she wakes up at night and hold her when she sees a nightmare… I want to take her to school and watch her grow to become a life changer. And I want to be the father she would be proud to introduce to her friends and to her husband and to be the grandfather she always wished for.

I want the entire world to salute Adam & Maria with respect, knowing they are my children… And thank them for the difference I made happen, and repeat the sentence that they will never ever get sick of hearing… “You are very lucky to have had such a great father”.

The old man, overwhelmed with my words, was about to shed a tear of pride… “That’s inspiring… But what about the mother?”

“Well my friend, they say that the best gift a dad can give his children is to… Love their mother. She’s the one who will support me through good and bad times, to be the best of what I can be, for her and for them… Where everything is suddenly possible…”

“I hope you find the right girl with the best qualities then”

“I’m not going to worry about finding her… I’m going to be busy being the Right man for her”

In Business I learned not to settle for less because The Sky is the Limit… But in Life… Love is the Limit!

 

It was the best talk I’ve had in years…

Cheers,

SC

Leave a Reply

